One Year Anniversary Story: How Our Love Started and Almost Ended All in One Day


Mike and Matt from Philadelphia today celebrate their one year anniversary. This is their love story.

Image

Dear Gay Marriage USA,

My name is Mike I have seen you post pictures of happy couples for a while and I am more than happy to tell you about my boyfriend I and how our love started and almost ended forever all in one day.

A year to the day, June 11, 2012 Β leaving Philadelphia Gay Pride, my boyfriend Matt was struck by a car that was going 60 miles per hour. We were just leaving a romantic, fun filled and amazing weekend on the boat. As we crossed the street, I saw him be thrown 30 feet in the air and dragged across the intersection in Philadelphia. I ran over to him and his breathless and pulse less and bloody body I held in my arms yelling his name hoping to see him open his eyes himself. As I was about to do CPR he opened his eyes and said my name eventually screaming it for me not to leave his side. I’m an EMT and therefore kept him stable until the ambulance came.

He was taken to the local trauma center where upon arrival, I was pushed back at the doors depsite him yelling for me. I sat waiting on news of whether or not he was going to be okay. Finally, I was able to go back to see him. Bloody, scraped, and battered he was still alive and wouldn’t let go of my hand. I had never met his parents until I called them myself to give them the news. I met them in the trauma bay for the first time.

I went to the hospital to see him each of the 10 days he was in there recovering. On day 5 he asked me to be his boyfriend. Without knowing how long it would take until he would walk again I said yes. Summer 2012 was spent pushing him around in his wheelchair and helping him get back on his feet.

Today, one year later, he and I are going strong. Many obstacles have come our way but pure, equal, unconditional love is what has got us through. I would LOVE for you to share our story to show that pure love is equal. I love him so much and would love for him to see this tomorrow or sometime this week.

After losing my parents at nine, I buried the woman who raised me, my grandmother due to Lung cancer. This year has tested us beyond comprehension but despite all, we are both finishing our degrees in Nursing and planning an amazing life together.

The passing of gay marriage will allow Matt and I to have full rights and face the challenges life throws at us together forever. Young gay couples (we are 21 and 22) know what it is like to face this worlds adversity against Gay Marriage.

Thank you for your time and thank you for this amazing page for all that you do.

This entry was posted in LGBT and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to One Year Anniversary Story: How Our Love Started and Almost Ended All in One Day

  1. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Awesome love story!! Still together ….. πŸ™‚

  2. Dr. Rex says:

    Love your story!!! Stay strong!!1

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary Story: How Our Love Started and Almost Ended All in One Day | One Pride Network

  4. BT says:

    Happy Anniversary! Hang onto each other!

  5. AaronGibson says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful story

  6. Anonymous says:

    Adversity what a word…Great Compassionate Love Story~!! Stay Strong~!! πŸ™‚

  7. Gary Chuang says:

    Such an amazing story!!
    They’re meant to be together.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful love story

  9. Ken Brownell says:

    God Bless you both. I wish you both the best that life has to offer and your truly an inspiration to the gay community. Best wishes to you both and your families.

  10. Anonymous says:

    This is so beautiful.

  11. Anonymous says:

    What a wonderful story. You two were truly meant to be together. It is a shame that we can’t be recognized as married couples. My “husband” and I have been together 15 years now and love each other more now than ever. Hang in there; we have seen changes—slowly—but positive. We love each other and there isn’t a soul who can change that!!

    • jessica says:

      I’m sorry my stupid touch scene phone put the dislike when I was trying to put like I love what you said love is love no matter who it is man woman woman woman man to man its love makes us happy

  12. Pingback: Boyfriend Writes Beautiful Love Letter On His One Year Anniversary, "How Our Love Started and Almost Ended All in One Day" - June 11, 2013 - The Gaily Grind

  13. Anonymous says:

    God bless the both of you. Cheers!

  14. Mike says:

    What a beautiful love story…..keep the faith guys….it really is changing and getting better. I hope the day will come that my long term partner and I can make it legal.

  15. Barbara Fiedler says:

    Beautiful story. I hope that one day you will be able to say you have been married 45 years, as my husband and I have. We have a 43 year old gay son. I want, for him, and for all, the same rights and benefits my husband & I have taken for granted for so many years!! You sound like a very happy couple, I hope a “forever” couple. Bless you both!

  16. Thomas Williamson says:

    Happy anniversary. A wonderful story!

  17. Anonymous says:

    Very Beautiful Story! Stay Strong Guys! And Best of Luck to Both of You:-)

  18. That is a beautiful story. Happy anniversary! I wish you both all the happiness this life can give. Good luck!

  19. Cody Quinlan says:

    Wow, your story touched my heart. I’m glad everything has been working out for you guys. Stay strong ❀

  20. jessica says:

    Beautiful all I know is you touch my heart this world needs to change I believe that love is love a person is still a person we bleed the same blood I love your story your story we will makes others stand out n to be who they truely are

  21. Brian says:

    Hi guys,
    I posted a reply to a friends’ FB share but am also posting here for you both.
    Wow!! What a love story!!

    I hope that the time comes soon when you will get your wish and marry each other in your own country. I further wish that in your country, like mine (Canada), it just becomes “marriage”, an exchange of vows to love, cherish and stand by one another, in good times and bad, between two people in love who want to make a permanent commitment to each other and build a life together.
    You have faced the bad times for sure, bring on the good!!!
    May you enjoy long, healthy and prosperous lives together surrounded by love and laughter.

    Cheers and HUGZ from Canada!!

  22. spannerr says:

    OHMIGOSH! You two are soo adorable! I nearly cried at this. Seriously. Your very brave. Stay srong. And dont take a stuff from anyone. πŸ˜‰

  23. PaulineFr says:

    Really strong boys ! beautiful story

  24. Anonymous says:

    this is a joke…you two literally just got back together not to long ago, cause after mikes birthday you two broke up, and from all the nasty things you both posted on facebook, you know that your “love” is joke like come on people, FAKE FAKE FAKE.

  25. Beth Warren says:

    Great story and glad you found each other…. and found your way through such adversity! I hope that my son finds a guy as awesome as the two of you! πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary!

  26. Bob Bruman says:

    Love is love! Trouble comes to all our lives at one point or another, but only love can see us through. Blessings and well wishes…to you both! Keep the faith.

    To dream … the impossible dream …
    To fight … the unbeatable foe …
    To bear … with unbearable sorrow …
    To run … where the brave dare not go …
    To right … the unrightable wrong …
    To love … pure and chaste from afar …
    To try … when your arms are too weary …
    To reach … the unreachable star …

    This is my quest, to follow that star …
    No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
    To fight for the right, without question or pause …
    To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …

    And I know if I’ll only be true, to this glorious quest,
    That my heart will lie will lie peaceful and calm,
    when I’m laid to my rest …
    And the world will be better for this:
    That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
    Still strove, with his last ounce of courage,
    To reach … the unreachable star …

  27. awesome love story.., OMG I’m already in love with u guys..
    May all happiness be showered upon U. God Bless You Both.. πŸ™‚

  28. Anonymous says:

    What a wonderful story of love and perseverance, I’m actually teary eyed here. You guys make a beautiful couple.

Leave a Reply

